Google Play App
iTunes App
facebook twitter

Local Sports 5-29-2015

Chris Tamas has been hired as an assistant coach for the Nebraska volleyball team. Tamas has spent the past two seasons as an assistant coach at Cal Poly, after serving as an assistant at Minnesota in 2011-2012. He replaces Dan Meske, who is leaving to become the head coach at Augustana College in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. Nebraska has also hired Tamas' wife Jennifer as a volunteer assistant. She was a four time All-America middle blocker at Pacific and earned a silver medal at the 2008 Olympics as a member of the U.S. National team.

The Tri City Storm and the Viaero Event Center have announced that President Greg Shea has resigned to accept another business opportunity in Kearney. The move will be effective June 18th. Shea has been the President for the hockey team and the event center since 2009.

Storm forward Chris Wilkie, defenseman Bobby Nardella and goaltender Alec Dillon have been named to the All-USHL Second Team.

The Nebraska Danger will play at Colorado tonight. The Danger beat the Ice 67-57 last Saturday in Grand Island. Nebraska is 9-2 on the season. Colorado is 3-8.

Omaha Creighton Prep won the Class A State Golf Meet at the Highlands Golf Course in Lincoln. The Junior Jays finished with a team score of 583, eleven strokes better that second place Papillion LaVista. Kearney was 10th. Grand Island was 12th. Jack Minnick of Lincoln Southwest was the medalist with a 138.

Scottsbluff won the Class B State Championship at the Riverside Golf Course in Grand Island. The Bearcats shot a two round total of 636. Beatrice was second with a 640. Noah Hofman of McCook won the individual championship with a 142. Caleb Badura of Aurora tied for third with a 149. Ashton Graham of Adams Central was eighth with a 156.

Grand Island Central Catholic won the Class C State Championship at the Holmes Golf Course in Lincoln. The Crusaders finished with a total of 620. Ord was second with a 626. Kearney Catholic was ninth. Sutton was 13th. Jay Cottam of Thayer Central won a playoff to win the individual championship.

Randolph won the Class D State Championship at the Meadowlark Hills Golf Course in Kearney. The Cardinals shot a two day total of 666. Overton was second with a 669. Heartland Lutheran was seventh. Axtell was 11th. Kyon Neal of McPherson County was the medalist with a 155.

Hastings Five Points Bank will play four games in the Grand Island/Hastings Invite this weekend. Hastings is 4-3 on the season. They'll face Lincoln Northeast tonight at 7:00pm, Omaha Burke tomorrow morning at 11:00am, Lincoln U-Stop tomorrow afternoon at 4:00pm and Russell, Kansas at 12:30pm on Sunday. All four games will be played at Duncan Field and be broadcast on 1230AM KHAS.

At Ryder Park in Grand Island today, Kearney Runza will play Omaha Burke at 2:00pm followed by Kearney Runza against Lincoln U-Stop at 4:30pm. At 7:00pm, Grand Island Home Federal will play Lincoln U-Stop.


Storm forward Chris Wilkie, defenseman Bobby Nardella and goaltender Alec Dillon were named to the All-USHL Second Team on Thursday after a vote of the league's coaches and general managers.

All three had outstanding seasons in Kearney, leading the way at their respective positions. The awards are the first All-USHL recognition for any Storm player since Jaden Schwartz after the 2009-10 season.

Wilkie had the recognition of being the top scorer all season for Tri-City, tying a team record with 35 regular season goals. The Omaha native was also tied for the USHL goal scoring lead.

In addition, the forward led the USHL in power play goals (17) and shots on net (300). Both of those totals broke individual Storm records. Wilkie is committed to play for the University of North Dakota.

Nardella had an outstanding offensive season, scoring 10 goals and 32 assists in 56 games. The defenseman's 42 points was third-best among USHL defenseman, while his 22 power play assists was first among blue liners and third-best among all skaters.

Committed to Notre Dame, Nardella broke single season Storm records for most assists by a defenseman (32), most points by a defenseman (42) and tied for most power play assists (22).

For Dillon, the honor is his second of the offseason, after being named to the USHL All-Rookie First Team last Friday. The netminder led the league with a goals against average of 2.27 during the 2014-15 season.

A fifth round 2014 NHL Draft pick by the Los Angeles Kings, Dillon also finished fourth in the league with a .914 save percentage, while playing over 2,000 minutes in net.

The goaltender played in 41 games and had a record of 23-11-4 with three shutouts. Dillon is committed to play for Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) next season.

A full list of the three All-USHL Teams is below.

Tri-City is preparing for the team's annual tryout camp, which will be held in Las Vegas June 15-21.

Nebraska-Kearney track & field team members Kevin Carder, Dillon Schrodt and Jackie Ziemke have been selected to the 2014 Capital One Academic All-District 7 teams, as selected by CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America).

To be eligible for this squad, a student-athlete must carry a 3.30 cumulative GPA, be a starter or key reserve and been at his/her current school for one academic year. Finally, sports information directors (SID's) vote on the makeup of the Academic All-American and All-District teams.

District 7 includes schools from the MIAA, NSIC (Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference) and GAC (Great American Conference).

This is the second year of the expanded Academic All-America program as CoSIDA moved from recognizing a University Division (Division I) and a College Division (all non-Division I) and has doubled the number of scholar-athletes honored. The expanded teams include NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II and NCAA Division III participants, while the College Division Academic All-America Team combines NAIA, Canadian and two-year schools.

Carder maintains a 3.99 GPA as Political Science major. Currently running across Europe, the Albion native was the Lopers team MVP in cross country in each of the past two years while being an NCAA provisional qualifier at 10,000 meters this spring.

In the ring, Ziemke (Waco) earned All-American honors in the shot this past March thanks to a third place finish. Also qualifying for the NCAA Outdoor Championships, she has a 3.93 GPA in Business Administration.

A junior from Lincoln North Star, Schrodt was an All-American in the heptathlon at the NCAA Indoor meet with a third place finish. At last week's NCAA Outdoor meet, he placed ninth in the decathlon and also was a qualifier in the 110 hurdles. He maintains a 3.86 GPA in Math (grades 7-12).

Platte River Radio ESPN Superstation Logo KKPR Logo KLIQ Logo Hastings Link Logo Platte River Preps Logo

As per Federal Communications Commission Regulations following is certified: Platte River Radio Inc. does not discriminate in the sale of commercial time, and will not accept advertising which, in its sole opinion, is purchased with intent to discriminate unlawfully on the basis of race, gender, or ethnicity. The advertiser hereby certifies that its purchase of commercial time is not made for an unlawful discriminatory purpose, including specifically that it is not based upon a decision to place advertising on a station on the basis of race, gender, or ethnicity.