Listen Live

facebook twitter rss

Get our App

App in Google Play

iPhone app

Rewards Club


Huskers to Host ACC Champions in ACC/Big Ten Challenge

One piece of Nebraska’s 2013-14 home schedule was revealed Wednesday afternoon, as the pairings of the ACC/ Big Ten Challenge Presented by DICK’S Sporting Goods were announced. Nebraska will host defending ACC champion Miami at Pinnacle Bank Arena on Wednesday, Dec. 4, the second night of the two-day event between the conferences. Start time and television information will be announced at a later date, as all 12 matchups will be on the ESPN family of networks. All 12 games will also be available via WatchESPN.

The Hurricanes went 29-7 last season, winning both the regular season and tournament titles for the first time in program history before falling to Marquette in the Sweet 16. Under National Coach of the Year Jim Larrañaga, the Hurricanes reached the Sweet 16 for the second time in NCAA history.

Miami is 2-4 all-time in ACC/Big Ten Challenge games, including a 67-59 win over Michigan State last season. Nebraska is 1-1 all-time in ACC/Big Ten Challenge matchups following a 79-63 win at Wake Forest last November in Winston-Salem, N.C.

The Dec. 4 matchup will be the first between the two programs since an 82-67 Husker win on Dec. 30, 2006. The Huskers have won the last three meetings in the series, including the only matchup in Lincoln, an 85-58 win on Dec. 18, 1970, which took place at the NU Coliseum. This season, the Huskers will open Pinnacle Bank Arena, a 15,147-seat facility located blocks from campus in the Haymarket District of Lincoln. The entire arena was pre-sold for the first time ever with the announcement coming on May 3, that all season tickets for the upcoming season were accounted for.

While Miami looks to replace it starting five from last season, second-year Nebraska Coach Tim Miles returns three starters from a team that went 15-18 in his first season, including guard Ray Gallegos and forwards David Rivers and Shavon Shields. Gallegos, who averaged 12.5 ppg in 2012-13, led the Big Ten in 3-pointers per game and ranked second in school history with 83 3-pointers, while Shields averaged 8.6 points and 5.1 rebounds per game as a true freshman. Rivers started NU’s final 17 games and averaged 5.6 points and 3.4 rebounds per game. In all, 10 letterwinners return for the Huskers in 2013-14, while seven newcomers, including three scholarship redshirts, will suit up for the Scarlet and Cream this season.

With today’s announcement, Miami is the third NCAA Sweet 16 team already on the Huskers 2013-14 schedule as two of the Huskers’ Big Ten single-play opponents in 2012-13, defending Big Ten champion Indiana and NCAA runner-up Michigan, will also play in Lincoln this season.

The Big Ten and the ACC split the 12 meetings in 2012, but the Big Ten held on to the Commissioner’s Cup after posting wins in the previous three years. The ACC leads the all-time series 10-3-1. Since 2000, the Big Ten and ACC have combined for 20 Final Four appearances and six national titles.

· Huskers -
May 8, 2013

Matchups Set for Fifteenth Annual Big Ten/ACC Challenge on Dec. 3-4

The 15th annual Big Ten/ACC Challenge Presented by DICK’S Sporting Goods on Dec. 3-4 will be highlighted by eight teams in an early preseason top 25, including six of the top 11 teams: No. 3 Michigan State, No. 5 Duke, No. 6 Ohio State, No. 8 Syracuse, No. 9 Michigan, No. 11 North Carolina, No. 20 Indiana and No. 25 Iowa. Three of the games will pit ranked teams against each other: No. 9 Michigan at No. 5 Duke, No. 11 North Carolina at No. 3 Michigan State and No. 20 Indiana at No. 8 Syracuse.

ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU will combine to televise all 12 games of the two-day event matching top college basketball programs playing for conference supremacy and the Commissioners Cup. All 12 games will also be available via WatchESPN.

All 12 Big Ten teams and 12 of the 15 ACC teams will participate in the 2013 Challenge, including the three newest ACC members Notre Dame, Pittsburgh and Syracuse. Clemson, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest will not play in the 2013 event.

The ACC and Big Ten split last year’s Challenge with six wins each. In the event of a tie, the Commissioner’s Cup remains with the conference that won the previous year, which was the Big Ten in 2011. The ACC holds a 10-3-1 Challenge record, winning the first 10 events (1999-2008) while the Big Ten won the next three (2009-2011).

2013 Big Ten/ACC Challenge schedule (times and networks are to be determined):

Date Game
Tue, Dec 3 Indiana at Syracuse
Michigan at Duke
Notre Dame at Iowa
Florida State at Minnesota
Penn State at Pittsburgh
Illinois at Georgia Tech
Wed, Dec 4 North Carolina at Michigan State
Maryland at Ohio State
Miami at Nebraska
Wisconsin at Virginia
Boston College at Purdue
Northwestern at NC State